Support Us

Home     Our Team

The Women in Conservation Program
The Rachel Carson Award
The Awards Council
Award Honorees
Women in Conservation Luncheon
10 Things You Might Not Know...
Internship Program
Our Team
Follow AudubonWIC on Twitter
Dr. Sylvia Earle
National Geographic Explorer in Residence; Founder, Deep Search Foundation
2009 Rachel Carson Award Honoree

Called "Her Deepness" by the New Yorker and the New York Times, a "Living Legend" by the Library of Congress, and Time Magazine's first "Hero for the Planet," Sylvia Earle is an oceanographer, explorer, author, lecturer, Explorer in Residence of the National Geographic Society, Leader of the Sustainable Seas Expeditions, Council Chair for the Harte Research Institute at Texas A & M, Corpus Christi, Founder and Chairman of Deep Search, and formerly the Chief Scientist of NOAA. She has founded three companies including Deep Ocean Exploration and Research and served on various corporate Boards including Dresser Industries, Kerr-McGee, Oryx Energy and Undersea Industries. She is a graduate of St. Petersburg College and Florida State University with MA and PhD from Duke University and 17 honorary doctorates.

Author of more than 170 publications, lecturer in more than 70 countries, and participant in numerous television and radio productions, her research concerns the ecology and conservation of marine ecosystems, with special reference to marine algae and development of technology for access and research in the deep sea. Worldwide field experience includes leading more than 70 expeditions and more than 6500 hours underwater including nine saturation dives and use of various submarines. She serves on the boards of organizations including the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Mote Marine Laboratory, Rutgers Marine and Coastal Studies Institute, Duke University Marine Laboratory, Conservation Fund, Aspen Institute, Ocean Futures, American Rivers, Ocean Conservancy, Marine Conservation Biology Institute, and is a Patron of Wildscreen. She Co-chairs the Science Committee of the U. S. National Parks 21st Century Commission and is a member of the Aspen Institute's Arctic Commission.

She has received more than 100 national and international honors including the 2009 TED Prize, the Order of the Golden Ark by the Netherlands, Australia's Banksia Award, and medals from the Explorers Club, Society of Women Geographers, Barnard College, National Wildlife Federation, New England Aquarium, the Lindbergh Foundation and the Philadelphia Academy of Sciences. She is a fellow of AAAS, Marine Technology Society, California Academy of Science and the Royal Geographical Society, and is a member of the World Academy of Art and Science. She has received the Academy of Achievement's Golden Plate Award, National Women's Hall of Fame and the Department of Interior's Conservation Service Award.

For more information:

Home | | Support Us | Our Team | Copyright by National Audubon Society, Inc. All rights reserved.